O’s Track Of The Week (Christmas & New Years Special): James Brown – Funky Drummer

I can’t stress enough how much James Brown means to me.

Every since the first time I got a hold of my Dad’s Sex Machine: The Bery Best Of James Brown, I’ve been playing his music non-stop since I was a kid. It’s only until my Dad got me this legendary box set called Star Time that I officially became a stan.

Almost five hours of that compilation and I’m cherry picking my favourite tracks, which is like 15. I wish I could do a James Brown Track Of The Week in replacement for O’s Track Of The Week, but that wouldn’t be fair would it?

Now, one of the cheery picks so happen to be arguably the most important song for hip hop music – the Funky Drummer.

With Star Time, I grew up with the 7 minute version. But now that I’ve got James Brown’s entire discography, I now have 3 versions: The 7 minute version on Star Time, the 9 minute version on In The Jungle Groove and the bonus reprise beat with the legendary drum break.

It’s a James Brown record and he produced this track. But let’s not forgot the man who blessed us with the legendary drum break, which has been the most sampled sample in hip hop history: Clyde Stubblefield.

According to WhoSampled, Funky Drummer has been sampled 946 times.

According to my last.fm account, I’ve played Funky Drummer 315 times.

When I have children, no doubt I will be giving them the best of James Brown. This man’s name should may as well be a genre for music.

I hope all of you enjoyed your Christmas, and I wish you guys a happy new year.

R.I.P. James Brown!

One thought on “O’s Track Of The Week (Christmas & New Years Special): James Brown – Funky Drummer

  1. Pingback: O’s Track Of The Week Birthday Special Return: Zapp – Computer Love | OisLike

Leave a comment